This week I decided on my hypothesis and final idea for my project.

I started the week by having a disucssion with Greg about my hypothesis.

After discussing different hypothesis ideas with Greg, I came up with my the first draft of the question. After deviding  last week I wanted to base my FMP on fashion merchandising I decided that an appropriate question would be ‘How does a company create a good campaign?’. When looking back at this question I decided it was not specific enough, the word company was too broad and opened the doors to many possible ideas therefore I decided to create another question with more terminology linked to my topic. The next question I came  up with  was ‘How does a fashion brand create a good campaign?’

After looking back at this question again, I decided that I wanted to change the word ‘good’. I wanted to change this word because I thought it was very bland and not very clear on what I want to achieve, its a very open-ended word. After already changing company to brand and creating topic specificty by including the term ‘fashion’ I wanted to change ‘good’ to something that would link well to my project idea. After using a thesaurus to look up synomyms I decided that I would change ‘good’ to ‘successful’. This meant I finally had a final hypothesis.

How does a fashion brand create a successful campaign?

After deciding on my hypothesis, I then went on to write a short brief on what my project would entail. I did this in order to help myself to plan my FMP correctly.

My FMP is a fashion based project, primaraly sorronding fashion merchandising in paticular. Fashion merchandising involves developing campaigns, displays and advertisements, directing manufacturing and marketing as well as creating sales strategies for the fashion industry or the retail environment. I decided to focus my FMP on this topic as it will link to my university choice. I plan on touching on most of the elements of merchanding in my project but most paticularly campaigning. My project will begin with research into the fashion industry as well as into merchandising and other related topics such as the history of marekting in fashion. I will then go on to develop my own selection of campaigns for a brand of my choice. The project will end with a conclusion pack which will discuss what I am happy with and what I am unhappy with, how my project went and so on.

Next week I plan on first choosing my brand and then going forward to create a research plan.