I have now chosen the animals that will be included in the top trump game. I knew i wanted to use four habitats with five animals from each habitat so I used BBC Nature – Habitats to find out the characteristics of each habitat and also learn the animals that are found in them.

The four habitats I decided to use in the game were:

  • Tropical Grassland
  • Polar Regions
  • Open Ocean
  • Desert

I chose these habitats because they are all have extreme conditions that only certain animals can live in which linked to the topic of my game ‘Survival of the Fittest’

Next, I chose which animals I would use from each habitat. I found this difficult because I wanted to chose animals that the audience would find interesting!

The first habitat I chose the animals for was Tropical Grassland.

The animals I chose were:

  • Lion
  • Giraffe
  • Chimpanzee
  • Ostrich
  • Leopard

The next habitat I looked at was the Polar Regions.

The animals I chose were:

  • Artic Fox
  • Polar Bear
  • Emperor Penguin
  • Wolverine
  • Leopard Seal

I then looked at the Open Ocean habitat.

The animals I chose were:

  • Narwhal
  • Manta Ray
  • Great White
  • Killer Whale
  • Bottle-nose Dolphin

The final habitat was the desert.

The animals I chose for this habitat were:

  • Black Mamba
  • Red Kangaroo
  • Camel
  • Meerkat
  • American Black Vulture

I also created a table with the animals and characteristics of the habitats.

This helped me to understand the strengths and weaknesses of the animals and characteristics of the habitats whilst also helping me with the visual production of the colour schemes for each habitat etc.

This is displayed below: